Hey Aotearoa, marriage equality looks good on you

April 18, 2013

Explaining marriage equality to a 6 and 5 year old is hard. But so worth doing.

This morning I explained the decision made in the Aotearoa New Zealand Parliament and how important it was.

I named our same-gender partnered friends and explained how they now have the same choices with regard to marriage that Dad and I have.

And my daughter said: ‘Yay! So I can marry a girl when I grow up!’

And my heart melted just a little bit.

Think about that. It doesn’t matter what sexuality my daughter will identify with when she grows up. What matters is that she is going to grow up in a nation where her sexuality won’t matter.*

Her landscape will forever incorporate this. Marriage equality is now assumed by her in a way that hasn’t existed for men who love men and for women who love women.

Until now.

Thank you Aotearoa. Thank you to the people who lobbied, who organised, who campaigned and who fought to see this day

 

Click here to see lovely footage of celebratory singing.

* at least with regard to marriage.

 

Leave a Reply

