I finally made myself something!

October 22, 2012

I’m super proud of this!

(PS – this is NOT a tutorial)

I used a top I already had as a pattern. For tips on how to do that, check this link. Junk mail was taped together and used to draw the pattern on.

I got a fabric I liked but not loved as this is the first time I’ve done this. Of course I had to choose a top that had a fancy neckline, but it turns out the sleeves were the hardest part!

It took ages for me to figure out what shape to cut the fabric to get the folded edge. (diamond shape!) I lengthened the sleeves as the original ones were a little shorter than I would like for work. I might sew a little elastic in the sides to create a gathered look.

Again, I learned a whole lot. Like what it’s like to sew on stretchy fabric (hard!) and how to cut a pattern (generously!)

I can’t wait to wear it tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “I finally made myself something!”

  1. Barbara Tenner said

    I am really impressed! Well done!!

Leave a Reply

