A token of my affections

December 16, 2011

I handed over another gift this week. Well, a set of gifts, to the women I work with as peers and colleagues as part of the Governance Group of Wellington Rape Crisis.

I made us each a pendant made from an embossed 20 cent piece with matching patterned paper.

This group is one of the best groups I have ever been lucky enough to work with. The agency itself is amazing. Talented, intelligent, dedicated women, working at the coalface of sexual abuse and rape.

The Governance Group is fabulous.

We have built the kind of group culture where we can disagree and confront and challenge and all walk away feeling fine about things. We accept that we all carry other aspects of our life on our sleeves when we arrive and we look after one another as best we can. We don’t expect to agree all the time but we do expect that sometimes we have to ‘give’.

We can be honest about our fears and insecurities but not in a false ‘hustling for compliments’ kinda way. In other words, we can also be strong and confident in our opinions and we respect each other.

It’s a model I hope to be able to replicate in other places, but I know that it’s rarer than it should be.

 

One Response to “A token of my affections”

  1. Wendy said

    I wish every group I worked with was like WRC GG. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

