Advent calendar/bowl

December 1, 2011

After extensive research* (i.e. google searches) I decided to make an advent calendar… of sorts. I imagine that over the years my technique will evolve but for this year I took the easy route and used empty toilet paper tubes, crepe paper and raffia to make this. Found a free printable online for the numbers and used my imaginary florist skills to ‘arrange’ them.

Making them was a little time consuming but probably finding the goodies for inside was the most tricky. In the future I’ll follow the suggestions of Dukes and Duchesses and add service tasks or experiences like a candle lit dinner or making cookies for a neighbour.

After all, ’tis the season to have the Xmas spirit and as a parent, I should probably start thinking about what I think the Xmas spirit is all about how we teach it to our kids.

* I found some wicked cool calendar ideas and have pinned them to this board and if you’re into that kind of thing you can have a look.

 

Leave a Reply

