Of course I am

October 24, 2011

I am enough.

I tell myself this everyday now.

I am enough.

Instead of letting that old loud voice dominate, I say to myself; I am enough.

When I feel hot shame creep up my neck, I intone; I am enough.

At night after a long day of being tested and tested and tested, I meditate; I am enough.

Before the words ‘I’m sorry’ automatically pass my lips I remind myself; I am enough.

I am enough

I am enough because I am a whole complete person. I am not two people and can’t do the work of two people, nor the parenting of two people, nor the cleaning, the volunteering, the cooking, the art, the music, the entertaining, the caring, the exercising, the singing, the gardening, the writing, the thinking, the laughing, the playing of multitudes.

I

am enough

And that knowledge is reflected back at me, it always was.

My contribution is enough

My existence as it is, is enough

and when I’ve repeated as necessary,

what follows is peaceful.

 

4 Responses to “Of course I am”

  1. Pam said

    Of course you are…
    this reminds me of Walt Whitmans ‘Song of Myself’, compulsory reading for any one who has ever doubted that they are enough, that they can manage, and that what they have to contribute is valuable as it is. Google it when you have a spare 1/2 hour, its quite long but well worth it.

    I exist as I am, that is enough,
    If no other in the world be aware I sit content,
    And if each and all be aware I sit content.

  2. Wendy said

    đŸ™‚

  3. Wendy said

    Ug, that emoticon looks way dorkier than the calm, beatific smile I was going for, which was supposed to impart the message, “You rock. Nuff said.”

  4. Anne-marie said

    Love this

Leave a Reply

