Buffy Newbie – Journal 2

November 12, 2012

I’ve finished the first season of Buffy. One I’ve got one word for you; Angel.

Look at him all fresh and crisp

I finally get him. I get the fascination. He shows up and disappears randomly. He is mysterious, handsome, aloof, yet protective and deeply conflicted. What’s not to like?

It takes several episodes before he reveals his vampire nature. In fact he waits until after their first kiss. Smooth.

The Whedon vampire look is definitely not sexy. We are not talking Alexander Skarsgard from True Blood here. In fact, does anyone remember the old TV series ‘Beauty and the Beast’ (Linda Hamilton and, as it turns out, Ron Perlman). Well that’s what I always think of when the Buffy vampires show up.

 

Angel with his game face on

I liked how his nature and furthermore, his curse, were only revealed later in the series. It adds depth to the otherwise formulaic nature of such series.

But I gotta hand it to Whedon, while you’ve got the stereotypical dorks and dicks. In some ways this might have been one of the first shows that depicted geeks, nerds and dorks as heroes, which i suspect played a huge part in the shows success.

For those of us who weren’t in the popular crowd at school, which I suspect was most of us, having a show where the nerds and the school librarian end up saving the day must have been pretty powerful. (Huzzah for the underdog.)

The characters not only had more depth than expected but were so relatable. The popular girl has a sensitive side. The goofy Zander, who has a crush on Buffy shows another, more bitter side to himself when she rejects him. Usually Accommodating Willow doesn’t allow him to use her as a consolation prize and so consequently in the last episode, they all end up home alone on prom night. So what do they end up doing? Killing vampires. I mean, don’t we all?

That last episode also features one of my favourite lines; “We saved the world, lets party”

Now a word about Buffy herself. She doesn’t quite cut it for me as a nerd. Sure she flunks classes a lot because she’s out killing ghouls and what not, but she still looks pretty fashionable while she’s doing it. “I even broke a nail.”

But I like that she lives with her single mom who has a nice sarcastic streak and that she isn’t popular and that she gets the crap beat out of her. (Feminist/non-violent interjection: Did I just say that?) What I mean is that she is not an infallible hero-type. In fact she dies in the last episode and is saved by some pretty ordinary CPR.

We are left with hints of change for season two, “I feel different, stronger” she says. I’m looking forward to climbing in to it.

One Response to “Buffy Newbie – Journal 2”

  1. Emily said

    I watched these (like all of the series) on DVD when I had mega morning sickness with Isaac three years ago – it just gets better and better as a show (and raises interesting issues) so I look forward to reading more of your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

