On the cheaper – Laundry

July 1, 2012

In other news I have been using home-made laundry detergent for the last two weeks and it’s working great.

I made a 9-litre bucket full of the stuff and keep it in the sink next to the washing machine. I use half a cup per load so this bucket should last me a good loooong while.

The recipe is all over the internet, but I used this one here.

Sometimes I miss the artificial scents, but mostly everything just smells clean. You can add some essential oils in the spin cycle, but I can’t be bothered.

Even better I also mixed some home-made spot remover which works really well. I spray a little on the armpit areas of all my tops and my laundry is as cleaner, probably cleaner than it ever was.

Clean laundry = happy me

(It’s the little things that make me happy)

 

2 Responses to “On the cheaper – Laundry”

  1. Wendy j said

    Q: What dishwashing liquid did you use for the spot remover? Is it only Dawn that works or would any type work? I’m into this idea!

    • I used whatever I had on my shelf at the time. I’ve looked high and low but can’t find Dawn here in New Zealand. You can buy it via Fishpond but it’s super expensive. Other frugal/green bloggers usually refer to using Sunlight and I’ll give that a try next time I mix up a batch.
      I’ve also cheekily asked a colleague who is in the USA right to bring me a bottle of Dawn so I’ll compare how effective it really is.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

